Sakshi education logo
Sakshi education logo

Civil Services Examination Pattern

Join our Community

facebook Twitter Youtube
Education News The Civil Services examination comprises two successive stages -
  1. Preliminary Examinations (Objective Type) for the selection of candidates for Main Examination; and
  2. Main Examination (Written Exam and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various services and posts.
Preliminary Examination
Preliminary Examination comprises two compulsory papers of 200 marks each.
Paper-I: General Studies (200 Marks)
Paper-II: Civil Services Aptitude Test (200 Marks)
Note: There will be negative marking for all incorrect answers. One-third (0.33) mark (assigned to that question) will be deducted as penalty.

Main Examination
The written examination will consist of the following papers:
  1. Qualifying Papers:
    Paper - A:
    One of the Indian Language chosen by the candidate from the Languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution -300 Marks
    Paper - B: English Language - 300 Marks

  2. Papers to be counted for merit
    Paper - I:
    General Essay - 250 Marks
    Paper - II: General Studies – 1 - Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society -250 Marks
    Paper - III: General Studies – 2 - Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations -250 Marks
    Paper - IV: General Studies – 3 - Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management - 250 Marks
    Paper - V: General Studies - 4 - Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude -250 Marks
    Paper - VI: Optional Subject - Paper 1 - 250 Marks
    Paper - VII: Optional Subject - Paper 2 - 250 Marks

    Sub Total (Written Test): 1750 Marks
    Personality Test: 275 Marks
    Grand Total: 2025 Marks
Published on 6/2/2014 12:40:00 PM

Related Topics